National Transitions of Care Coalition (NTOCC): Seven Essential Intervention Categories to Achieve Optimal Transitions in Care

If you would like to submit a gero-focused practice or link to a community resource, please complete the following form to suggest the resource to our team.

NTOCC is a group of concerned organizations and individuals who together address the safety and quality of care for transitioning patients. This is a tool that could be used for organizational planning to create targeted action plans toward improving transitions of care.  

NTOCC completed a project to determine seven crucial elements that are involved in every quality transition of care. 

The “Seven Essential Intervention Categories” as designated by NTOCC are:

  1. Medication management
  2. Transition planning
  3. Patient and family engagement/education 
  4. Information transfer
  5. Follow-up care
  6. Health care provider engagement 
  7. Shared accountability across providers and organizations
Resource Website: